Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Bug in a Vacuum by Melanie Watt

Bug in a Vacuum by Mélanie Watt
This is totally my favorite children's picture book that I have read all year! And I have read a lot of them. On a scale of one to five, I give it a ten! There are so many reasons that I love this book. First, the illustrations are absolutely fabulous! They are vintage looking and simple yet have a lot of fun details to find. Next, the story is funny and poignant and also teaches children the five stages of grief. A fly who is sucked into a vacuum along with a dog toy, goes through the five stages of grief - denial, bargaining, anger, despair and acceptance. The dog, whose toy has been sucked in to the vacuum, silently but expressively also goes through the same stages. In the end, the dog finds a new friend, the dog's toy becomes part of a bird's nest and the fly goes to the light and finds himself in a better place. I shared this book with my sixteen year old son and he liked it too and said the illustrations are great and he thought it was funny. I received this book free to review from Netgalley and my library has ordered it. It is so totally fantastic! I highly recommend this book!

No comments:

Post a Comment